TEA Time ~ and the Sufferings of JOB

This is my favorite HOT tea.  Green Tea with just a drop of honey and a weeGreen Tea 7-30-2011 006 bit of cream.  There are times I crave it!  So refreshing and energizing while at the same time relaxing.

Combine the tea with my favorite cup… blissful! I purchase it at our local Natural Food store (GreenLife).  I have discovered if I want it quickly I can brew it in the coffeepot (Just make sure the pot is scrubbed clean from prior use!) otherwise, the taste can be strangely unpleasant! 

So, while reading and catching up with the SUMMER CHALLENGE… reading the BIBLE in 90-days… I am drinking my Green Yerba Mate’ Tea and enjoying the morning!  I woke up very early this morning and while I had intended to sleep-in… my body was “through” with sleeping!  I gave in! Smile 

Bud has gone to the garden to see if we can gather any remaining produce… we didn’t harvest much this year…too hot and too dry!  What we did get was delicious though!  We are now waiting to catch the figs as they ripen before the wild critters do.  We would like to make some fig jam or preserves this year.  The fig tree is acting kind of strange too  Sad smile…so we may not get much from it either.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Open Bible-mine 2011 001 Notebook Reflections

 

I wasn’t able to read as much as I wanted to today (yet).  But I did read 12 chapters this morning and plan to read more later this evening.

 

In last weeks readings…I penned these thoughts from Job:

After God gave his ok for Job to be tested, I noted the different Messengers that came to Job in succession. 

First Messenger: your oxen were plowing with the donkeys feeding beside them, when the Sabeans raided us.  They stole all the animals and killed all the farmhands.  I am the only one who escaped to tell you.  And while he was yet speaking…

Second Messenger: The fire of God has fallen from heaven and burned up your sheep and all the shepherds.  I am the only one who escaped to tell you.  While he was still speaking…

Third Messenger: Three bands of Chaldean raiders have stolen your camels and killed your servants.  I am the only one who escaped to tell you.  While he was still speaking…

Fourth Messenger:  Your sons and daughters were feasting in their oldest brother’s home.  Suddenly, a powerful wind swept in from the wilderness and hit the house on all sides.  The house collapsed, and all your children are dead.  I am the only one who escaped to tell you.

Job STOOD UP and tore his robe in grief!  Then he shaved his head and fell to the ground to WORSHIP.

He said:

I came naked from my mother’s womb, and I will be naked when I leave.

The LORD gave me what I had, and the LORD has taken it way.

PRAISE THE NAME OF THE LORD!

In all this, Job did not sin by blaming God.

Can you imagine what Job was thinking? … “What have I done to deserve this?”… “Why was I born?”… “I wish I had died at birth!”… 

If all that happened one after the other to you, could you STAND UP and then WORSHIP GOD??? 

suffering_Job-705x500I simply cannot fathom the depths of his grief…he lost everything, children, houses, livestock, servants, and then to top it off he was covered in boils from head to foot.  Have you ever had ONE boil? Painful malady!!  but from head to toe! So not only was he in mental, emotional anguish, but he also was physically in pain…  and he had these wonderful friends who accused him of hidden sin… (slander is unpleasant).

And we want to give up when_______________?!  I’ve never had anything like the testing of Job… Yes, I’ve gone through some very trying times of trials and testing… emotional and physical and will go through more I’m sure, especially as THE DAY approaches of His Second Coming… but in perspective of Job’s losses mine do not compare!

In Job 9:33-35 he speaks of I wish

If only there were a mediator between us, someone who could bring us together.  The mediator could make God stop beating me, and I would no longer live in terror of his punishment.  Then I could speak to him without fear, but I cannot do that in my own strength.

I am so very thankful for our mediator, Jesus Christ and while I reverence Him, I am not fearful for I am a recipient of His compassion and love.  I can have direct contact with Him and talk to Him anytime I desire.

Grace, Mercy, Love is a wonderful gift given to us through His sacrifice!

GOD TRUSTED JOB…can He Trust us?

Blessings…take time to talk to Him … He loves to see our adoration expressed in Praise and Worship.

_4-blog-heartwhispers-sig_thumb

6 thoughts on “TEA Time ~ and the Sufferings of JOB

  1. Hi Pam. Job certainly went through a lot and all in a very short period of time. Thank God we have the testimony of how he still held onto God in spite of all he went through. I’m thankful also for that Scripture in I Cor. 10:13.
    ” There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it. ”

    I am glad He promised not to put more on us than we could bear. At times, we might feel like it’s more than we can bear, but if God leads us to it, He will bring us through it. (if we’ll trust in Him)

  2. Hello Pam.. just came across your blog on tag surfer. I wrote about Job just a few days ago and thought you might want to take a look at my post. You seem to have a wondeful writing gift..
    Blessings,
    Alicia

    • Alicia,
      Thanks for stopping by my blog. I did go to your blog and thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts. I did read your post on JOB… Job is an amazing book!

      I also love your roses and watercolors! May I post a watercolor on my blog if I credit/link it to you?

      In Him we have Hope,
      Pam

  3. Thanks for having me on your blog roll! And I noticed you have yerba mate!! I grew up in Paraguay where everyone drinks this! They mostly drink it cold there since it’s so hot, but they like it hot too. I LOVE it!! They drink it from a cup (traditionally one made from a cow’s horn) and a metal straw with a sieve on the end. Everyone shares the same straw. Maybe you already know all that, but I just got so excited when I saw your yerba! 🙂

    • Katy, it’s my favorite. Some think it has a bitter taste, but I don’t…and I drink mine without sugar…sometimes without cream. But I do like just a drop of cream. I just happened to try it about 3 years ago and have been drinking it ever since! I enjoyed reading your blog.

Leave a comment